ElasticHosts Help Centre

Emergency reboot in syd-v (Sydney)

Completed Jul 24th, 17:00 - 18:04 BST

Timeline

Complete3 months ago

Maintenance has been completed.

For any lingering issues, please get in contact with support@elastichosts.com, and thank you for your patience.

Update3 months ago

The maintenance period begins now. Machines will soon begin to shut down hosts in the Syd-V zone so that crucial security patches can be applied.

Planned3 months ago

Severe vulnerabilities have been disclosed that we need to mitigate with a controlled reboot of our platform. To patch our hosts, we have allocated an emergency maintenance window for the zone syd-v (Sydney).

Start time: 25/07/2019 @ 02:00 AEST (24/07/2019 @ 16:00 UTC)
End time: 25/07/2019 @ 04:00 AEST (24/07/2019 @ 18:00 UTC)

During this time your services on this zone will be inaccessible while the host servers are rebooted to a new kernel version.

  • Any VM or container that is switched on at the start of the maintenance period will be gracefully shutdown, and then started up once the reboot has taken place.
  • If you do not want your VM or container to start up after the maintenance period, please either shut it down at least 10 minutes before the maintenance period starts, or contact us via email so we can make an exception for you (support@elastichosts.com).
  • If you need your VMs to be shutdown and started up in a specific order, please contact us via email so we can make an exception for you (support@elastichosts.com).
  • If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us via email so we can address them.

    The patches relate to the Zombieload vulnerability.

    Please understand this is a critical vulnerability which all hosting providers are affected by, the implications of not mitigating the issue quickly are potentially devastating.